About the history of the Logis and its gardens: Chenard is a house built in 1630 and belonging to the family of Mesmole until the revolution. Two imposing dovecote from this period still flank the entrance gate. Around 1800 Jean-Baptiste Tabuteau bought and rebuilt the existing dwelling in the 1820s A century later in 1920, René Tabuteau entrusted to landscape architect Eugène Bureau Charentais drawing the current garden. Work began in 1924 and ended in 1930. A railway was purchased and installed to convey the non-calcareous soil. Dozens of laborers took turns and rare species were planted in the region. Visitors can see an assembly including a rose garden, two arbours, an English garden, a French garden an orchard and vegetable garden and beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. It may also ask the gardener who speaks with passion, Marie Claude Braud. The gardens and exterior of the house is registered in the inventory of historical monuments. After the death of Simone Alice Tabuteau Signac in 2006 the house and garden was taken over by Alain de Lavallade and his daughter Anne-Sophie Gabriac that perpetuate with her husband and children the tradition of beautification projects: extension of the aisle of lime trees leads to the house and planting of new trees in the park. A country house even open its doors this summer in the old farm house.